So last Saturday was my final baby shower of the summer, possibly of 2011 but who knows, everyone seems to be popping out babies this year! Unfortunately I ran out of time for all the stuff I wanted to make for Cole’s baby, but this just means that I get to craft more to give to her later for her baby boy (yet to be named).  Especially since I remembered afterwards that I specifically bought something for her and forgot to print it out 😦 le sigh, my brain is getting too old and forgetful.

So onto the crafts!

As my baby shower constant, I made a couple onesies for Cole.  I used Kurt Halsey for my inspiration since this is one of her favorite artists and I absolutely love his work.  Unfortunately I only found 2 pieces that I thought I could re-create well enough for a gift, I’m still on the lookout for a 3rd piece to make into the last onesie for Cole’s baby.

I was really pleased with the way the polar bear/penguin came out but the poor turtle got a smudge on his upper left shell, so I tried to fix it by shading in the rest of his shell with some grey paint.  I’m undecided about how I feel this attempt, it does make it a little more like the grey scale that Kurt uses but I really liked the stark black and white stencil on its own.

Of course I made Sheldon (this is my last turtle future baby makers!!) per Cole’s request.  I really love the color combo of light blue/green and I finished him at the last minute before leaving for the baby shower.  Someday I’ll be a bit more prompt with my crafting, last weekend for Baby Poompanina I managed to burn myself with the iron in my rush to finish the onesies.

Lastly, I wanted to give some background history on my friendship with Cole.  We met in Jr. High school and became instantly close friends.  Because of Nicole and especially her mother, I became interested in crafting.  I don’t think I would be the person I am today without their influence.  Although Cole and I have taken different paths in our crafts (she is super talented at scrapbooking and card making,  I think she has just about every cricket cartridge available) I fell in love with knitting.  Her mother is amazing at sewing, quilting, crochet, and baking!  Just to give you an idea of how amazing she is, this is the cake that she baked for Cole’s baby shower (and you can see all the work that Cole put into the cake with her paper crafts)

Cole’s younger sister Kristin even got in on the action and made the cupcakes.  Seriously, can they get any cuter??

And that ends the Summer of Baby Showers!  Now I just have various ends and odds to finish to continue making for these babies, they have a lifetime of crafts coming their way 🙂

