B has invited me to participate in her holiday craft sale in November and to get my feet wet I decided to make a few Billows for sale. What’s a billow you ask?? It’s a pillow that unfolds into a blanket! I made a few of these for christmas gifts for my friends a few years back and everyone has always appreciated them, they’re so warm and inviting. Plus they’re easy to store since they fold into a compact pillow (well, as compact as you can fold a large fleece blanket..)

I went to Joann’s on a mission to find cute fabrics to make kid sized billows and I’m really happy with what I ended up going home with!

This is my group shot of the four billows I made. My favorite two are resting in front 🙂

20111001-102252.jpg

as you can see this one features a light green/yellow combo on the fleece fabric and the pocket is such a cute design on cotton of animals. I almost want to keep this for myself!! I spread this out onto a regular twin sized bed to show the width/length and it’s a fairly large blanket, not quite long enough for me (and I am about 5’2″) but definitely wide enough to cover the bed.  I think what I love most about these blankets is the versatility of the pocket, you can keep it on the outside and use it to store toys or whatever while you’re sleeping, or you can sleep with it on the inside and use it as a foot warming pocket!

20111001-102324.jpg

now this fabric is super cute.  I found the fleece fabric with the dinosaurs first and had to comb through the store to find the matching/complementing fleece.  As you can see the bottom fleece has this great design with a beautiful blue background while the top fleece is a nice bright orange to match!!

20111001-102334.jpg

this was another case where I found the fleece pattern first and then decided to match the rest.  I love farm animals so I couldn’t resist!

20111001-102342.jpg

and lastly, who can resist cute little birds?!? Plus I love the color combo of a chocolate brown with a deep pink 🙂

so right now I’m trying this out to sell on etsy, I only have on listed at the moment.  We’ll see how it does, or if there’s even any interest in it 🙂  wish me luck!! and feel free to comment to give me suggestions or any feedback!

